Elsas Veggie Patties

Vegan and GF 🙂

I first made these little patties of love, deliciousness, and nourishment about 2 years ago, and every time I’ve made them since, if someone comes home and I tell them I’m making my patties, theres a few hoorays and yays..

I was almost reluctant to share the recipe for these as they’re something quite special to me, and something I can’t wait to make a family tradition when I have my own little family, but what the hell, why not! we’re all family here aren’t we? 😉

and the best thing about these is that the recipe makes so many, so theres always left overs.. AND they taste even better the next day.

they’re filling because of the brown rice and sweet potatoes, theres protein in the lentils, and even some sneaky greens- zucchini and spinach

 Elsies Veg Patties

 

Ingredients- makes approx. 38 patties or 7-8 servings (~5 patties per serve)

4 medium sweet potatoes

1 cup of brown rice

1 zucchini- grated

1 cup of spinach/kale -chopped

4 spring onions- diced

1/2 cup of lentils/ chickpeas

1 cup of rice crumbs (1/2 cup for rolling other 1/2  for patties)

1 tsp of each- cumin, dried coriander, garam masala

handful of fresh herbs- chopped (I use basil, coriander and mint from the garden)

2 garlic cloves- diced

1 red chilli- diced

salt and pepper to taste

 

steps-

1. peel and bake the sweet potatoes how ever you like, I wrap mine in foil and bake on a tray for approximately 40 minutes or until you can easily push a fork through them.

2. while the potatoes are baking cook the brown rice in a pot or using a rice cooker as per the instructions on the packet.

3. once they’re both cooked leave them aside to cool.

4. in a large mixing bowl add the zucchini, spinach, onions, spices, herbs, rice crumbs, garlic, chilli, salt and pepper, and lentils/chickpeas (if using chickpeas, mash with a fork). Mix well. add the rice and sweet potato and mix well.

5. line a couple of baking trays with baking paper and add the remaining rice crumbs to a bowl

6. roll into golf ball sized balls with your hands (or bigger if you want big patties) and roll them in rice crumbs lightly, then place on tray and press them flat, repeat with remaining mixture until all used up.

7. bake in oven at 180 degrees for approximately 20-30 minutes or until they’re as crispy as you like.

8. optional: fry them lightly in olive oil if you prefer ( I usually place them in the oven while I make up a big salad and clean up, then fry them when serving )

Elsies Patties

 

these go perfectly with my avo whip, its a party in your mouth, I swear.. so I highly suggest you serve them with it, in fact I demand you do!!

to make the avo whip-

blend in a processor 1 avocado, 5 mint leaves, big squeeze of lemon juice, salt and pepper, (optional- big dollop of natural yoghurt) and then dice half a small cucumber and stir it through it. then you have a minty fresh, cool as cucumbers, and creamy like avo- DIP!

 

Enjoy! Elsa, xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. These look amazing ! I am an avid follower of your instagram and can’t get enough of your past ! x x mon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. janeycornish says:

    These look so delicious, I can’t wait to make them 🙂 I was just wondering though, what are rice crumbs?

    Like

    1. They’re usually found in the gluten free section but if your not gluten intolerant then bread crumbs would be equally as good! Or even substituting for any kind of flour such as buckwheat or spelt would work 🙂 Thankyou! Enjoy xx

      Like

      1. janeycornish says:

        Thanks so much Elsa! I’ll give then a go with bread crumbs ☺

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

