‘not-so-traditional’ Gooey Caramel Slice

Okay, so this really is the best thing since traditional caramel slice.. my raw and vegan ‘not-so-traditional’ Gooey Caramel Slice. This is for all you caramel slice lovers out there… Warning: it is sweet, delicious, and you will have dreams about this once its all gone. 😉

Now I must confess, all my life I have never been in the caramel slice fan club.. I always found it to be overwhelmingly sweet to the point of sickening. But as I’ve matured, my love for dark chocolate has grown, and now my love for caramel slice is forming, actually it just formed today when I tried this caramel slice 😉 .

caramel slice 3

This recipe is vegan (dairy free), refined sugar free, and gluten free. and full of goodness: high in healthy fats, antioxidants, fibre, and minerals 🙂

You will notice there is four layers: a nutty vanilla base, coconut cashew layer, gooey caramel layer, and a raw choc top! now before you freak out looking at the ingredients list, I assure you the coconut cashew layer isn’t necessary, totally optional! I’ve added it because I think it looks pretty… hehe such a perfectionist. and most of the ingredients are repeated in each layer (i.e. coconut oil, coconut nectar and cashews.).

In the caramel layer I’ve added mesquite powder: I’ve added this super food to my caramel because I love its wild flavour in my creations when I’m trying to get a caramel, plus it adds lots of minerals such as calcium, magnesium, potassium, iron, and zinc. Get onto it, it’s addictive! also dates are the key to a creamy caramel, and are full of fibre.

like all my treats, they are that exactly, a treat, so eat in moderation, (however guilt free 😉 ), and don’t be greedy.. I know they’re too good to share but if you share them around with your friends and family they can see how amazing refined sugar treats can be.

I have cut mine into small squares, you could get up to 28 servings out of this if you cut them small. its rich so a little piece will satisfy your sweet tooth I’m sure.

Here’s what you need- 

for the nutty vanilla base:

1/2 cup raw almonds

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 tsp vanilla powder

1/2 cup buckwheat grouts

1/3 cup coconut oil

4 tbsp water

4 tbsp coconut nectar

for the coconut cashew layer (optional)

1 cup desiccated coconut

1/2 cup raw cashews (soaked overnight)

3 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp coconut nectar

for the gooey (SO DELICIOUS) caramel layer

17 fresh medjool dates

1/2 cup raw cashews (soaked overnight)

3 tbsp coconut oil

3 tbsp water

1 tsp sea salt

1-2 tbsp mesquite powder (optional) add even more if you want bonus minerals!

for the raw choc top

4 tbsp cacao powder

few cracks of sea salt

4 tbsp melted cacao butter

4 tbsp coconut nectar

6 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp nut/seed butter (I’ve used a lovely seed spread)

+ 2 tbsp crushed nuts.

to make- 

base: 

process the almonds in a blender until ground to a meal, add the buckwheat and coconut flour and process again quickly, then add the rest of the ingredients and process again until well combined, you may transfer to a mixing bowl and knead with your hands to mix it well or transfer straight to a baking tray lined with cling wrap. ( I have used a banana loaf tray to make mine in so the layers are tall and thick, but any shape/size tray will work ) press base layer into tray firmly, and flat. try using a fry pan flipper to get it flat (yes I know it has a technical name but fry pan flipper will be suffice for now). transfer to freezer.

coconut cashew layer:

add all the ingredients to the blender and whiz it until its well combined/ almost smooth. you may need to pause and scrape down the sides every minute or so. remove the base from the freezer and spatula (yay I remembered the name of this tool) out the mixture on top of the base and spread it out flat. return to freezer.

gooey (SO DELICIOUS) caramel layer:

pit the dates, I repeat, PIT THE DATES. or things could get messy. then add them to the blender along with the rest of the ingredients and blend away. keep blending and scraping down the sides until its smooth and delicious, yep try it, it is so yum. my vitamix decided to have one of its melt downs when I was making this layer, where I have to turn it off and leave it to cool down for 5.. or 10, I think the consistency of this layer got too sticky for him. But this is good, you probably want the coconut cashew layer to set a bit before putting the caramel on top because you want the layers separated (but then again thats just my ‘I’m a food blogger, everything has to be perfect’ ways). When you think its ready, scoop out all the caramel into the tray and spread out evenly, return it to the freezer.

raw choc top:

add all ingredients to the blender and whiz again, (have the cacao butter, and oil, pre melted). Pour over the caramel layer and give the tray a jiggle so it spreads evenly. Sprinkle the chopped nuts over the top and return to the freezer, again.

Allow the slice overnight in the freezer to set before trying to cut it up, once ready, remove from tray by pulling on the cling wrap, peel cling wrap off and slice carefully into even sized pieces.

store in a container in the freezer and remove when serving. I eat it straight from the freezer as the layers will never fully freeze, its chewy, gooey and delicious straight away 🙂

caramel slice

I hope you enjoy this one

have a beautiful week,

Elsa, xx

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanne says:

    These look delicious! I can’t wait to try these. I have to work off the christmas treats first 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These looks so great, can’t wait to make them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Experience Vegan with Molly! and commented:
    WANT THIS. NOW. Also want my dissertation to be complete so I can cook lovely things all the time!

    Want want want

    Like

  4. alemiszung says:

    oh my goodness, this looks like heaven! i think i will try and make a similar treat for my dad to celebrate the father’s day!
    by the way, i just wanted to stop by to tell you just how much i love all of the recipes that you post. and the pictures – they’re magic! thank you for sharing so much health & beauty ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much that’s so nice of you! Hope you and your dad like this recipe 🙂

      Like

  5. Jenni says:

    Is there an alternative to cacao butter?

    Like

    1. You could just add extra coconut oil to replace it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

