Springtime Granola

making your own granola is so easy and quick once you get the basics sorted.

I had this granola in the oven in 5 minutes, and the best bit is you can throw whatever you like in. 

What annoys me about most granola’s you find on the supermarket shelf is they’re full of processed cane sugar, poor quality oils, and lots of additives with funky names. 

So anyway, I thought it would share my simple granola recipe with you to get you ready for all those summer smoothie bowls! 

I’ve dehydrated some strawberries, papaya and banana at home, they add some beautiful colour and natural bursts of sweetness! You can use store bought dried fruit but check the ingredients label, as they’re often dried in sugar. 

  
Ingredients:

1 cup puffed brown rice 

1 cup buckwheat grouts

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cut nuts (I’ve used pecans and walnuts)

3 tbsp seeds (I’ve used pumpkin and flax) 

1/2 cup coconut flakes

1 cup dehydrated fruit (I’ve used strawberry, papaya, banana) 

1 tsp vanilla powder

2 tsp superfood powders (I’ve used maca, lucuma, and mesquite, they give it a lovely caramel flavour) 

2 tbsp oil (I’ve used melted coconut oil, olive oil would be great too)

3 tbsp liquid sweetener (I’ve used coconut nectar) 

Pinch of salt! 

How to make your granola!

1. Turn the oven onto 160-180 degrees Celsius. 

2. Add all dry ingredients to a big mixing bowl and toss, add the oil and sweetener and mix well, you may want to use your hands the ensure its evenly mixed. 

3. Line a large baking tray with baking paper, spread out the granola mix over the tray. 
4. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until golden, (it will crisp up once it cools). Leave granola out for 15-20 minutes to cool before mixing in the dried fruit. 

5. Transfer it to a large jar, and store in the fridge. 

It makes a really yummy topping to your smoothie bowl, with yoghurt, or on its own as a snack. 

I had mine on a banana smoothie bowl, with loads of fresh fruit 😊 

  
Keep your eyes peeled on my Instagram for a special giveaway I’ve got coming up! 

Have a wonderful day, 

Elsa, xx 

And remember to tag me in any of your creations on Instagram or Facebook 

@elsas_wholesomelife 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. veganrescue says:

    What a beautiful bowl, love this pic – granola is so simple! This is so lovely.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, hope you had a wonderful day

      Like

  2. What a stunning photo! Way too beautiful to eat!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thankyou, 😍 glad you like it!

      Like

  3. Stunning photography…and I agree, too beautiful to eat 🙂

    Like

  4. superfitbabe says:

    Great recipe–actually, granola was a binge food so I had to keep it out of my cupboard for a year until my addiction died away! I am so happy that I finally got my appetite in control! This looks like an awesome take on granola!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks gorgeous! That’s good to hear, I know what you mean, it can be quiet addictive

      Like

  5. Anna Daftari says:

    Wow your pictures and the composition of your dishes are simply mind blowing ❤ I truly love your blog it is super creative A piece of art 😀
    Love, Anna
    https://annadaftari.wordpress.com/

    Like

  6. when I saw the picture on instagram I was like omg I need to eat this!!! thanks for sharing the recipe 😀

    https://aspoonfulofnature.wordpress.com/

    Like

  7. haylsaway says:

    What i would do to come home and have a elsa breaky !

    Like

    1. Aww what I would do to make you a breaky

      Like

  8. JIN says:

    I just nominated your beautiful blog for ‘Versatile Blogger Award’ Elsa! Go find out more about it here – http://spicycandiedlife.com/versatile-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Alexandra says:

    This looks amazing 😍
    This will probably sound like a silly question but how do you dehydrate the fruit? Is it simply in the oven? 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve used a dehydrator, you can dehydrate using an oven on the lowest temperature with the door slightly open 🙂

      Like

  10. Your photography is incredible! The smoothie bowl looks (almost) too pretty to eat!
    I love making peanut butter chocolate granola; it’s basically dessert 🙂

    Like

    1. Thankyou so much! such lovely words

      Like

Leave a Reply

