Chick-Choc Brownies

This past week has been one of those ‘where have you been all my life’ moments! I feel like I’ve been hiding under a rock. Okay, what are you talking about!?

Well I’ve just stumbled across this wonderful new whole grain called Teff. It may not be news to you, but I had never heard or tasted this grain before. (and I thought I had pretty great food knowledge). Anyway, some of you are probably reading this thinking, come on girl, teff is old news!! but if up until now you’ve never heard of it, like me, then here’s my pitch-

So it’s this tiny grain from Africa, a bit like quinoa, only smaller, with a nutty flavour, like buckwheat, that is also gluten free (HORAY for all those coeliac’s and gluten intolerant folks). But what I am most intrigued about is that it packs a pretty decent amount of iron. Why do I care about iron? well being plant based I find it pretty difficult to meet my body’s requirements of iron, so anything high in iron that’s plant based gets me excited. It’s also high in Fibre, Calcium, Magnesium, and Phosphorus.

So anyway, since my latest discovery, I’ve decided to get creative and put this grain to use in the kitchen!

First up was an experiment to add to my eBook, yes you’re getting a sneak peak into my eBook right here with this recipe, woohoo (I am a little excited about this grain so wanted to share the recipe too!!)

These brownies are pretty damn tasty, and just between me and you, if you don’t tell your boyfriend, he will never know they’re made from pumpkin and chickpea’s 😉

These brownies are low in saturated fat, and even give a decent amount of protein ~5 grams per slice, and made from all nutritious whole foods. Fabulous right! alright so how do you make them?

Fudgey Choc Brownies
Chickpea, Pumpkin Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup of steamed and mashed pumpkin (roughly 1/4 of a butternut pumpkin)
  • 1 can of chickpeas (rinsed and drained)
  • 1 cup of dried dates
  • 3/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup Teff Flour 
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder

How to make them!

  1. Preheat your oven to 160-180 degree’s celcius
  2. Remove skin from pumpkin and steam until soft
  3. Add pumpkin to a blender with the chickpeas (rinse and drain them), dates, teff flour, cacao powder, olive oil, almond milk, and salt.
  4. Blend until smooth and creamy! add the baking powder and blend quickly..
  5. Line a square baking tray (mine is roughly 16cm x 16cm) with baking paper.
  6. Pour the brownie mixture into the tray and smooth out flat (should fill the tray approximately 1.5cm deep)
  7. Place in the oven for 30 minutes (or up to 45 minutes if you want it a tad drier, checking on it every 15 minutes) the top should look crisp and cracked.
  8. Remove from oven and let it cool on the bench. Once cooled remove and cut 3×4 (12 slices)
  9. Refrigerate for up to a week, dust with flour before serving. You may also like to serve them with a big drizzle of raw chocolate sauce [UUUGHHH YUUURM] make this by whisking: 1 tbsp melted coconut oil, 1 tbsp maple syrup, 1 tbsp raw cacao powder, then  drizzle over thy brownies.
Fudgey Teff Brownies

Hope you guys enjoy this quick delicious recipe as much as I enjoyed developing it!

Just a sweet taster of what’s to come in my eBook! oh and hey, guess what! I have some more details for you, I’m looking at releasing it in the first week of december (christmas pressie anyone?? hehe) and because I’ve gotten a little carried away with the recipes, there’s now going to be over 60 recipes!! Just working on the last few, and finalising all the finer details.

Have a wonderful week.

Lots of love and happiness.

Elsa, xx

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks amazing. Have stumbled across Teff before but not really sure how to use it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so great! Well the flour you can use just like any other, such as in baking, and the grain can be used like quinoa or rice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. omg these look insane ❤ always love your recipes 😀

    https://aspoonfulofnature.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, these brownies look just so good. What a delicious recipe!!!
    Have a wonderful day, Franzi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Linn says:

    This looks SO good! I have to try to bake them as soon as possible. I’m pretty sure I can’t find Teff in my part of the world (unfortunately), but is it correctly understood that I can use normal flour instead?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah you could use any flour, buckwheat would go great if you still want it to be GF 🙂 enjoy! Let me know how they go X

      Like

      1. Linn says:

        Hi again. I’ve played around with your recipe in the kitchen now and ended up with my own brownie-version, with a few different ingredients. I think the recipe is delicious – thank you so much for the inspiration! You can see my version of your cake here: http://mynordicfoodtales.com/recipe-vegan-chocolate-cake/

        Like

      2. Aw thats so great to hear! I’m glad you liked it! thank you xx

        Like

  5. erincherbst says:

    Love this recipe. I made them for a “Friendsgiving” get togther last week and no one would have guessed they were gluten free. When is your new ebook coming out? Also, I wanted to ask you what your current fitness routine is like/ how many days a week you workout for and how long?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh that’s soo good to hear!
      It should be just over a week away! Yay!! I will share it on all my platforms so hopefully you won’t miss it 🙂
      I run roughly 5 times per week for around 8km each, and I go to yoga twice per week, and Pilates once, hope that helps! X

      Like

  6. Kim says:

    Finally got to make these this afternoon and my children loved them. Such a healthy treat,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so great! I’m glad they loved them!! Xxx

      Like

  7. Wow Elsa these brownies look amazing! I haven’t really used teff that often but I’m really keen to use it more. It’s so good for you!
    Might start with these cheeky brownies ;P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! They’re so delicious and teff is amazing I’m obsessed xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

